About ARB

About ARB

Appraisal District is ineligible to serve. Also, the person’s close relatives cannot work as professional tax agents or tax appraisers within the Appraisal District. ARB members also must comply with a particular conflict of interest laws.

ARB members tend to be individuals with excellent analytical and people skills needed to evaluate and make determinations based upon the evidence presented by the property owner and the appraisal district. An unexpected benefit from being an ARB member is the opportunity to meet and work with such a wide variety of interesting people who want the contribute to our community.

What is an ARB Member?

As a member of the Stephens County Appraisal Review Board, you will sit in panels of three to listen to property owner protest of the market values set by Stephens County Appraisal District.  You will be presented with testimony and evidence by both the taxpayer and the appraisal district and will weigh that evidence to determine the fair market value of the property.  Your final decision will be based upon the facts offered to you while adhering to the Texas Property Tax Code and the laws of this state.

Applicants must:

  • Be available when scheduled by the ARB Chair throughout the protest season (Typically, May 15th – September 15th)
  • Have been a Stephens County resident for the last two years
  • Must attend annual training by the Texas Comptroller; there may be several days of paid training scheduled prior to June 1st


How are ARB Members Selected?

ARB members are appointed by the Local Administrative District Judge for two-year terms. ARB members are not employees of the appraisal district and are not eligible for employee benefits by their review board service. 

The Local Administrative District Judge will review all questionnaires received and will contact respondents to schedule an interview. If you are selected as a candidate to serve, you will be subject to a background investigation.

Are ARB Members Paid? 

ARB members are paid a per diem.

ARB Chairman